



CWG Membership Term Renewals

A Presentation to the NOAA Science Advisory Board

Heidi Cullen SAB Member and Liaison, CWG

March 28, 2013

1



Outline



CWG Terms of Reference

CWG Current Members and Terms

Members Proposed for Renewal



CWG Terms of Reference



To provide scientific advice and broad direction to NOAA's climate program, in the context of national and international activities. The CWG will focus on the broad research and operational components of the climate program, as well as on the underlying observations and data management issues. The CWG will assist in establishing plans, reviewing progress, and setting priorities on a continuing basis. In all its activities the working group will take into consideration the eight themes set forth by the NOAA Science Advisory Board: 1) Quality, Creativity and Credibility; 2) Timeliness and Scale; 3) Science Connected to the Application and Operational Implementation of Policy: 4) Capacity Building; 5) Education; 6) Efficiency; 7) Social Science Integration; and 8) Diversity.



CWG Members and Terms



Chairs

Dr. Holly C. Hartmann, University of Arizona (1st term, expires 4/12)

Members

- Dr. Scott Doney, WHOI (1st term, expires 2/16)
- Dr. Leslie-Ann Dupigny-Giroux, Univ. Vermont (1st term, expires 2/16)
- Dr. John Dutton, Prescient Weather, Ltd. (1st term, expired 7/11)
- Dr. James Hack, Oak Ridge National Lab (1st term, expired 4/12)
- Dr. Greg Holland, NCAR (1st term, expires 2/16)
- Dr. James Hurrell, NCAR (1st term, expires 2/16)
- Jeanine Jones, California Dept of Water Res. (1st term, expired 7/11)
- Dr. Molly Macauley, Resources for the Future (1st term, expired 7/11)



CWG Members and Terms (cont.)



Members (cont.)

- Dr. Ellen Stone Mosley-Thompson, OSU (1st term, expired 4/12)
- Dr. Richard Moss, JGCRI (1st term, expired 12/12)
- Dr. Phil Mote, Oregon State University (1st term, expires 2/16)
- Dr. Raghu Murtugudde, University of Maryland (1st term, expires 2/16)
- Dr. Steven W. Running, University of Montana (1st term, expired 4/12)
- Dr. Steven C. Wofsy, Harvard University (1st term, expires 2/16)
- Dr. Fuqing Zhang, Pennsylvania State University (1st term, expires 2/16)

SAB Liaisons to CWG

Dr. Heidi Cullen, Climate Central and SAB member Ray Ban, SAB Chair



Members for Term Renewal



Holly C. Hartmann

Holly Hartmann is Director of the Interim Program Manager/Investigator for Hydrology and Water Resources with the University of Arizona Arid Lands Information Center. She has experience in hydrologic modeling, water resources management, and water policy research.

John Dutton

John Dutton, a Fellow of the AMS, is President of Prescient Weather, Ltd, a firm focused on management of weather and climate risk. He is also the chief executive of the World Climate Service, a joint venture between Prescient Weather and MeteoGroup in Europe. Dr. Dutton is Professor of Meteorology Emeritus and Dean Emeritus at the Pennsylvania State University's College of Earth and Mineral Sciences.

James Hack

James J. Hack directs the National Center for Computational Sciences (NCCS), a leadership computing facility at Oak Ridge National Laboratory supporting transformational science. An atmospheric scientist, Hack also leads ORNL's Climate Change Initiative.



Members for Term Renewal



Jeanine Jones

Jeanine Jones is CDWR's interstate resources manager. Her prior position was the drought preparedness manager. Her more than 30 years experience with CDWR includes directing the statewide planning program, participating in interstate water negotiations, and working on climate change adaptation programs.

Molly Macauley

Dr. Macauley is Vice President for Research and Senior Fellow at Resources for the Future (RFF). Her research expertise includes the economics of new technologies, the value of information, space economics and policy, and the use of economic incentives in environmental regulation and other policy design.

Ellen Stone Mosley-Thompson

Ellen Mosley-Thompson is a professor and Distinguished University Scholar in the Department of Geography and a research scientist in the Byrd Polar Research Center at The Ohio State University. She uses the chemical and physical properties preserved in ice cores collected from the polar ice sheets and high mountain glaciers to reconstruct Earth's complex climate history.



Members for Term Renewal



Richard Moss

Richard H. Moss is a Senior Staff Scientist with the PNNL Joint Global Change Research Institute at the University of Maryland and Visiting Senior Research Scientist at Maryland's Earth Systems Science Interdisciplinary Center. He chairs the US National Academy of Science's standing committee on the "human dimensions" of global environmental change and serves on the editorial board of Climatic Change.

Steve Running

Steven W. Running received a Ph.D. (1979) in Forest Ecology from Colorado State University. He has been with the University of Montana, Missoula since 1979, where he is a University Regents Professor of Ecology. His primary research interest is the development of global and regional ecosystem biogeochemical models integrating remote sensing with bioclimatology and terrestrial ecology.



New Member



Dean Roemmich

Dean Roemmich is a professor of oceanography in the Integrative Oceanography Division and Climate, Atmospheric Science, and Physical Oceanography Division at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego. He is an expert in the general circulation of the oceans and the role of the ocean in the climate system.



Desired Outcome



- SAB approval for three-year term renewals for Dutton, Hack, Hartmann, Jones, Macauley, Mosley-Thompson, Moss, Running.
- SAB approval for new member Roemmich.