DAARWG membership nominations

Report to the Science Advisory Board National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Presented by Ferris Webster, Chair, DAARWG

October 2012

DAARWG membership

- DAARWG members have 3-year rotating terms, renewable once
- Terms of four members end this year
- Replacement members are chosen to ...
 - replace expertise lost with members who have rotated off
 - ... fill gaps to deal with critical data issues
- New members to have terms until 31 December, 2015

Criteria for nomination

- Members should be experts in subjects related to NOAA data issues, in order to...
 - ... understand NOAA's data systems and needs
 - understand the needs of NOAA's data-user community
 - cope with computing, legal, commercial, and societal aspects of NOAA data
- Membership should be diverse, because ...
 - ... NOAA's data systems are highly diverse
 - Users of NOAA's products & services are diverse
 - DAARWG scientific issues deal with ocean, fisheries, weather, climate, space environment, information technology, ...

Expiring terms, 2012



- Peter Cornillon, 2012, University of Rhode Island
 - Satellite oceanography, distributed data systems



- Sara Graves, 2012, U. of Alabama in Huntsville
 - Large-scale distributed information systems



- Ernest Hildner, 2012, Boulder, Colorado
 - Space environment research



- Ferris Webster, 2012, U of Delaware
 - Physical oceanography, ocean data systems
- Hildner is eligible for a second 3-year term

Expiring terms, 2013



- John Boreman, North Carolina State Univ.
 - Population dynamics and environmental impact assessments of coastal & estuarine fishes.



- Daphne Fautin, University of Kansas
 - Invertebrate biology, biodiversity



- Chris Lenhardt, Oak Ridge National Lab
 - Informatics, Biogeochemical data DAAC



- Krish Narasimhan, Lockheed Martin Corp.
 - Enterprise IT, data management, communication networks.



- Beth Plale, Indiana University
 - Data-driven computing
- All except Fautin are eligible for a second 3-year term.

Expiring terms, 2014



- Eoin Howlett, Applied Science Associates, RI
 - GIS, IOOS, COASTmap, oil-spill modeling



- Steve Kempler, NASA Goddard, MD
 - NASA Earth Sciences Data and Information Center



- Irene Qualters, NSF, DC
 - NSF Cyberinfrastructure program, background at Cray Research and SGI



- Francis Zwiers, University of Victoria, BC
 - Climate, IPCC Vice Chair
- All the above are eligible for a second 3-year term.

Proposed new members, 2015



- Stefan Falke, Northrop Grumman Info Systems, MO
 - Geospatial information services, air-quality management



- Peter Fox, Rensselaer Polytechnic, NY
 - Climate variability, solar-terrestrial physics Large-scale distributed scientific repositories



- Ernest Hildner, Boulder, CO
 - Space environment research
- One more, yet to come ...

DAARWG Chair nominee

- Chris Lenhardt, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)
 - Science team leader
 - Manager, Biogeochemical Distributed Active Archive Center
- Experienced in chairing similar groups:
 - President, Earth Science Information Partners (ESIP)
 - Board Chair, Foundation for Earth Science
- DAARWG member for 2 years, eligible for 3year renewal