



Update on the R&D Portfolio Review Task Force

Peter Kareiva, SAB Member and Task Force Co-Chairffice

January 31, 2012

1



Purpose



 To provide an update on the Task Force membership and activities



Membership



- Task Force includes 7 SAB members and 4 external members. SAB Chair is ex-officio member.
- Roberta Balstad, Columbia University, is Task Force Co-Chair.



Members



- Roberta Balstad, Co-Chair and Senior Research Scientist, Columbia University
- Peter Kareiva, Co-Chair and Chief Scientist, The Nature Conservancy and SAB member
- Susan Avery, President, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
- Eric Barron, President, Florida State University and SAB member
- Scott Burns, Director, Environment Focus Area, Walton Family Foundation
- Lesley-Anne Dupigny-Giroux, Associate Professor and Acting Chair, Department of Geography, University of Vermont



Members (cont.)



- Jeremy Jackson, retired, formerly from Scripps Institution of Oceanography and SAB member
- Frank Kudrna, retired, formerly President, Kudrna and Associates and SAB member
- Bonnie McCay, Professor, Department of Human Ecology, Rutgers University
- Jim Sanchirico, University of California, Davis and SAB member
- Jerry Schubel, Aquarium of the Pacific, and SAB member
- Ray Ban, SAB Chair, ex-officio member.



Meetings



- Teleconference meetings held on January 5, 27.
- Planning underway for in-person meeting in Washington, D.C. area in February/March with a second meeting planned for April 4 before the SAB meeting
- Discussions underway on NOAA information to be provided. Timeframe for deliverables will also be discussed.
- Framework for review will be developed by subgroup and discussed with NOAA at D.C. meeting



QUESTIONS



• Questions?