

Lynn Scarlett Co-Chief Ext Affairs Officer The Nature Conservancy 4245 N. Fairfax Drive Arlington, VA 22203-1606

Tel (703) 841-2644 Fax (703) 841-7400 lscarlett@tnc.org
nature.org

May 14, 2018

RDML Tim Gallaudet, Ph.D., USN Ret. Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and Acting Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Herbert C. Hoover Building, Room 6811 14th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20230

Dear RDML Gallaudet:

On behalf of the NOAA Science Advisory Board (SAB), I am pleased to transmit the SAB Environmental Information Services Working Group (EISWG) annual report on progress made by National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) in adopting the Working Group's recommendations as mandated by Title IV, Sec. 401(c) of the Weather Research and Forecasting Improvement Act of 2017 (Public Law 115-25, signed 18 April 2017) (the Weather Act). The EISWG transmitted this report to the SAB on March 28, 2018 and the SAB approved this report at its April 9-10, 2018 meeting.

The report states that the EISWG did not make recommendations to NOAA regarding the elements of the Weather Act of 2017 this past year. Instead, the EISWG spent the first year under the Weather Act mandate developing a process for carrying out its assigned role. The report also identifies challenges that may affect the EISWG's ability to effectively carry out its role.

As stated in the Weather Act, the EISWG is to transmit its annual report to the SAB for submission to the Under Secretary. Within 30 days of receipt of this report, you are to submit to the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation of the Senate and the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology of the House of Representatives a copy of this report. Please let me know if you have any questions, comments or concerns.

Sincerely,

Lynn Scarlett

Chair, NOAA Science Advisory Board

Ly Scarles

Co-Chief, External Affairs Officer, The Nature Conservancy

Attachment

cc: Neil Jacobs

Stuart Levenbach Kevin Wheeler Craig McLean Louis Uccellini Cynthia Decker

Mary Anne Whitcomb

Elizabeth Akede Bob Winokur Andrea Bleistein John Cortinas